Virgen, Madre Groriosa

I’m likely the only person I know who enjoys listening to 13th-century Spanish songs in praise of the Blessed Virgin Mary. What can I say? It’s the conjunction of medieval historical and literary studies with a theological education and a fascination with Catholicism. But just in case I’m not alone out there, here is one of those great songs:

~ by crossingthebosporus on July 18, 2012.

10 Responses to “Virgen, Madre Groriosa”

  1. Make that two of us. πŸ™‚

  2. I love music like this.

  3. […] crossingthebosporus posted some awesome […]

  4. Wait, what? You are the only person?

    *Hears the word medieval matched with music, Catholic, and Mary….Perks up, looks around and raises hand*

    “Me too! Make that three.” πŸ™‚

    • Most people seem to think my love for the medieval is rather strange. Especially considering how “medieval” has become an insult in our culture. But I’d rather not bow down to the idols of “progress” and “novelty.”

      I remember way back to my Renaissance literature introduction class when my professor asked if anyone had read Milton’s “Paradise Lost” before. I was the only one who raised my hand. The professor paused (and since she knew me) said “Yeah, I figured you would have.”

      • I think your love for the medieval is beautiful. Keep in mind, the Middle Ages was bashed by people who wanted to get rid of Catholicism so they could live like pagans in debauchery. Catholicism was just in their way, The term Medieval was meant to be an insult. They did a pretty good job of trashing the reputation of the Middle Ages in the process.

        Your story of your professor is cute. It reminds me of my own undergrad – every time something on the Church would come up that was negative, up would go my hand to defend it. It got to the point that if I did not raise my hand, my professor would look at me and say something like “nothing to add?”

        I needed you in class with me when everyone was glaring at me! πŸ™‚

      • I was rather worried when I took a class on the Crusades. But the professor was Presbyterian and one of the top Crusade scholars in the world. So I was pleasantly surprised to get the balanced and fair perspective (which if you dig into any of the Crusade scholars work you’ll find, contrary to popular opinion.)

      • YES! This is so TRUE. In undergrad, dealing with most professors there was so much anti-Catholicism. But I was not dealing with anyone who was anywhere near a top scholar.

        In grad. school, I studied under the top scholars in their fields, and EVERYONEs attitudes were so different towards Catholicism. Even my classmates.

        When I would tell them the anti-Catholic things my professors said (like confession being invented in the Middle Ages, for example), EVERYONE would look at me like they were nuts (students and professors) and say “what? Everyone knows that is not true!”

        Well, not everyone, but people of good scholarship πŸ˜‰

        It is nice to hear someone else had that experience as well. And these “top scholars” I worked with, and my classmates – none were Catholic. So they were not “biased.” They just knew the truth.

        It was so incredibly relieving to not have to defend my faith at every turn. They had a respect for it, while not being it, that was just wonderful to work around.

  5. *raises hand* I, too, enjoy thirteenth century Spanish songs in praise of the Virgin Mary. πŸ˜€

    I’m a huge fan of early music. It was one of the many things that led me to the Catholic Church.

    • I’ve heard rumours that medieval/renaissance scholars convert to Catholicism en masse. If such rumours are true, then I suppose my current path was a foregone conclusion the moment I picked up Bede and Dante.

Leave a Reply

 
