Chesterton Quote for the Moment

“It’s not that Christianity has been tried and found wanting, it’s been found difficult and left untried.”

This quote certainly stuck with me from the first moment that I read it. And then, if I happen to fall into some old habits and sins, I remember just how difficult the path is that I am walking.

I could lighten my load by “loosening” my theology, but that is really only performing a deception upon myself. And, as Saint Severinus Boethius would probably say, it would be calling something a name that it is not and removing myself somewhat from God, the source of all goodness.

I could just decide to leave it all untried because I want to be lazy or something. But I don’t really want that. Or perhaps to be more accurate, especially when I consider my sins, I would say with Saint Augustine “Lord make me chaste. But not yet.” That is, heal me from my sins but not yet because I really rather enjoy them. (Of course this statement from Saint Augustine was not his finished theology. He made this statement when he was still struggling towards faithful living.) Saint Paul also talked about how he did what he didn’t want to do and didn’t do what he wanted to do.

The solution to this dilemma of wanting-and-not-wanting I find in the prayers of repentance in my prayer book:

“Enlighten my soul which remaineth unfeeling…”

That is, work in me Jesus so that I may love you more than my sins. The way is difficult, but you walked it before I did and you walk it now with me.

~ by crossingthebosporus on July 18, 2012.

3 Responses to “Chesterton Quote for the Moment”

  1. In the end, all we can do is try to walk in His footsteps, know how hard it is, and how much He loves us for just trying – sin is the thorn in all our sides, but God gives Grace if we will receive it. 🙂

  2. […] of my other friends, the excellent crossingthebosphorus offered us what is one of my favourite G.K. Chesterton quotations, to the effect that Christianity […]

  3. […] of my other friends, the excellent crossingthebosphorus offered us what is one of my favourite G.K. Chesterton quotations, to the effect that Christianity […]

Leave a Reply

 
